Perkiomen School News

Kriebel Hall

Perkiomen School celebrates its 148th Commencement on Saturday, May 27, 2023, conferring 85 degrees on the members of the Class of 2023. 

Head of School Mark A. Devey recently shared the names of the community members with the honor of speaking during the school’s year-end celebrations.

Ella Laski, of Center Valley, Pa., has earned the honor of Valedictorian.  Laski has the top academic standing in the Class of 2023, having taken nine Advanced Placement courses, four honors courses (plus five additional honors courses at a previous high school), and earning Medical Institute Distinction. Laski was the editor-in-chief of the student newspaper and served as an admissions tour guide, as well as was a member of the golf team and a manager of the National basketball team. She has been a Peer Tutor, Diversity Leader, Writing Fellow, Global Scholar Fellow, and Purple & Gold Team leader. A life-long dancer, she also worked as a choreographer for the Winter Musical. Laski will attend the University of Georgia.


Ella Laski

Ella Laski '23, Valedictorian


Kathryn Nicholas, of Perkasie, Pa., has earned the distinction of Salutatorian. She has distinguished herself with excellent academic standing among the Class of 2023, taking eight Advanced Placement classes and eight Honors classes. Nicholas served as a Proctor and has been a Peer Tutor, Writing Fellow, and Global Scholar Fellow. She has also participated in soccer, lacrosse, volleyball, and strength and conditioning, as well as taken independent music lessons. Her other activities while at Perkiomen include video editing and prototyping. Nicholas will attend New York University. 


Kathryn Nicholas

Kathryn Nicholas '23


In addition to Commencement speakers, Devey announced the Baccalaureate Service speakers, who were nominated by the members of the Class of 2023. Assistant Head of School for External Affairs Diana J. Gleeson will deliver the faculty remarks and Cooper Gleeson, of Pennsburg, Pa., will represent the class. 


The Middle School Moving Up Ceremony, to be held on May 24, will feature eighth grade speakers Elizabeth Theisen, of Gilbertsville, Pa., and Evelyn Yorgey, of Pennsburg, Pa.